Tuesday, December 31, 2013

2014 New Years Resolution - clean up your database


Is your New Year’s Resolution for 2014 to clean up your Dentrix Database? Do you find that you have duplicate insurance plans taking over your system? Do you have several unnecessary or duplicate medical alerts that have nothing to do with caring for a dental patient or you have maxed out your 64 limit and you need to find a way to create some space? My focus on the next few blog posts will be to help you straighten things out a bit.

I am going to first teach you how to clean up those unnecessary or duplicate Medical Alerts. Changing or deleting Medical Alerts can be a little tricky because the alert could be assigned to a patient. If you don’t detach it from the patient before you edit it, you will have a much bigger problem on your hands. If you want to edit your Medical Alert list, here is what you have to do.

First, you need to do a search of your patient base to see if the Medical Alert is attached to someone before you edit or delete it. Go to the Office Manager > Letters > MISC > Patient Reports by Filters > Edit > open up the Medical Alerts search and highlight the specific one you want to search for. Click OK, then click on Create Merge and select Create Data File only. This will just give you a list of patient names without merging the information into a letter. Now you can go into these patients accounts and de-select the Medical Alert you want to edit or delete.

 
After you have done a search for all the Medical Alerts you want to clean up, go to the Office Manager > Maintenance > Practice Setup > Definitions. In the dropdown menu, select Medial Alerts and it will bring up your list. If you want to edit one of them, just highlight it and change the name then click on the Change button on the right. This will change the definition for anyone who had that Medical Alert assigned to him or her. If you want to delete the Medical Alert, you will need to highlight the alert. Click on the Delete button, then you will need to select a replacement from the list. This is why it was extremely important to do the search for anyone attached to that alert before you make these definition changes.

If you are using the Questionnaire Module for your patient forms and you have the Medical Alerts information as one of your fields that can be merged, it will update your Questionnaire form automatically after you click on the Close button when you are finished. Hope this helps!


Dayna Johnson, Certified Dentrix Trainer
Dayna loves her work. She has over 25 years of experience in the dental industry, and she’s passionate about building efficient, consistent, and secure practice management systems. Dayna knows that your entire day revolves around your practice management software—the better you learn to use it, the more productive and stress-free your office will be. In 2016, Dayna founded Novonee ™, The Premier Dentrix Community, to help cultivate Dentrix super-users all over the country. Learn more from Dayna at www.novonee.com and contact Dayna at dayna@novonee.com.


2 comments:

  1. really enjoyed looking through your blog!!
    Will definitely be back when I need some inspiration!

    ReplyDelete
  2. A special thanks for this informative post. I definitely learned new stuff here I wasn't aware of !

    ReplyDelete